top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaid4Him

This Little Lamb

I am a lamb, there I said it, no embarrassment just a simple, honest admission. I am a little silly, a little foolish, slightly headstrong and sometimes I wander into places I shouldn't go. Sometimes I don't take much thought or consideration before I jump into something. I fall over easily, and seem to get caught in some pretty tricky, prickly places. There are things that are hard to understand and make sense of, alot of things I just don't know... but there's one thing I know for sure, I know the sound of my Shepherd's voice. I can hear it from far away, I can hear its tone and tell whether He is pleased or cross. I trust Him though, He has safely led me through the darkest and stormiest of nights. He has held me when I shook with fear, nursed me through sickness, and shown me where fresh water and sweet, green pastures were when I was hungry. He has never failed or forsaken me.

How about you? Feeling sheepish lately? Feeling fleeced by the strife and chaos happening around us? "Come away"... can you hear the Shepherd? He has a place for you beside still waters. It's just as the apostle John wrote so long ago, as Jesus was speaking to a crowd He said, "I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine." Later He also proclaimed, "..Neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand." (John 10: 14,28) There are lots of other so called "shepherds" who would like to lead us, they say they know best, that we should trust thier words.. but listen carefully lamb.

John 10:4 goes on to say, "he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him: for they know his voice." I can tell my Shepherd's voice apart from all the others. Sometimes I have to listen really hard to discern it from all the other voices that fill my day. Voices Of fear, hate, criticism, voices of pride, vanity..voices that try so hard to drown out the sound of my Shepherd. Still I listen, I strain to hear it some days but it's always there, quick as a prayer and sure as the stars I hear it. His is the voice I trust, the steps I follow and the one I can rest safe in the knowledge that He loves, leads and cares for me. I may not be the best lamb or even a prize winning lamb. Some days I'm that scary, mangey haired lamb with twigs sticking out of my wool cause I fell or strayed from the pathway.. but through it all, all I know is I'm His lamb and for today that's all that really matters and I find joy in that. Rest peacefully fellow lambs wherever you are, the Shepherd cares for you!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page