top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaid4Him

Half Full or Half Empty??


Ah the age old adage...now I'm not trying to brag but I tend to be one of those glass half full kind of gals. My brother says it's quite annoying (as he is a realist/pessimist) or maybe he means I'm annoying? Oh well perhaps a little of both it doesn't really matter...however I do enjoy and endeavor to try to find the good things hiding in the challenging moments. That being said a thought occurred to me the other day as I was having some Bible time. I ran across Ephesians 3:19, "And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fullness of God." Why am I settling with being just a glass half full kind of woman when it seems God has so much more for me than that? I get it, life is tough- some things are beyond our control, we've all got bills, bad health to contend with, work, stress, family, church, obligations which keep us busy and can be draining. However when it comes to matters of my mind and heart I do have alot more control as to what goes on in there. There the glass can be full when life is trying to empty me out. The Scriptures are a great place for me to "fill up" when I'm starting to feel empty. Matthew 5:6 reminds us, "Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled." If I'm hungry, or thirsty I know someone who's door is always open and the banquet is always laid and ready. David shared this sentiment too, he said in Psalm 23:5, "Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over." Of course there are other things that can fill up my cup..spiritual music, fellowship with friends, time with family, solitude, prayer, writing down things that you can rejoice over...there are many ways, you just have to find what works for you, these are just a few things that work for me. As ladies I think it's really easy to let ourselves get almost to the point of being empty because we're more concerned about taking care of everyone else. The point is instead of walking around only half full or even running on empty God sees our glass, He wants us to be full, satisfied, sustained and overflowing with the fullness of His love, His goodness, His joy, His purpose for us, all we need do is ask. Every year I pray for a one word theme to work on for that year, Ephesians 3:19 was the verse God led me to and my word for 2020 is Fullness. Each month of this year I am prayerfully, purposefully, working towards being filled with the fullness of Christ. January I worked on being Mindful. This month the goal is being Joyful. It's alot of work and I haven't got it down by any means but each day I'm learning, growing and hopefully changing. I feel full, and its a good feeling. So how's your cup today? May God's grace and goodness fill your heart and delight your day♥️

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page