top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaid4Him

The Things We Do For Love...

"He must increase, but I must decrease." John 3:30. Just a simple verse, an observation really, said with purpose and acknowledgement. John knew his public ministry was nearing its close whilst Jesus ministry was just beginning. John's calling was fulfilled, to herald the coming saviour of the world, Jesus Christ. John the Baptist was one strange fella, and I say that respectfully. He wore camels skin, ate locusts and honey (mmm delicious) oh and he dwelt out in the wilderness where the wild things really are. Eccentric, for sure but what a man of God he was! Even from the womb he was anointed to do a special work for God. The angel told his parents he would be a preacher. When his mother Elizabeth met with Mary (pregnant with Jesus) he lept in the womb for joy. His whole life was about Christ from the very beginning. His message was singular, the need for a Saviour, the gift of a Messiah, and finally the arrival of the Son of God. He met Christ and then baptized Him, I just can't even imagine! What a crowning gift, to meet the one he had spoken of for so long and with faith waited for and then start Him on the journey of His public ministry with a baptism! All the while knowing just as much as he waited and wanted Jesus to appear, His coming would mean the end of John's journey. Here's the thing though, and I may be wrong, but there's alot to read between the lines of scripture so let me dream a little... If you had asked John, "Why do you spend all your time out in the wilderness, it's hot in the day and cold at night, you don't have a roof over your head and have you seen the critters living out here!?" "You spend your days debating with Pharisees and unbelievers while they mock you!" " You are clothed in the rough, plain fur of a camel (which I can only assume has the terrible smell of a camel clinging to it🤢) and eating, let's face it, literally no ones favorite food? You endure all the pointing and name calling? What could make you do all this?" I can almost see John smile while saying, without a moment's hesitation, "All this is done for the love of my God, love for the gift of His Son, love for the Saviour of all men and the redeemer of my soul. For love was this all done."...

I remember having a conversation with a friend once about my very conservative ideas and standards (thier words not mine😊). I tried to explain my beliefs but they couldn't seem to grasp the reasoning behind them. Finally I said, "When you love someone there are things you do and similarly don't do BEACUSE you love that person, so it is the same with my relationship with Christ. There are things I do for love of Him and things too I try not to do also for the love of Him." I wish I was far more successful than I am about always doing those things that please God, but so often I get in the way. My ego, my selfishness, my laziness and my neglect all lead to moments of frustration and disappointment..but His love is so much deeper and better than any love I can muster and it picks me up, makes me clean again and sets me on the right path. John's simple statement said so long ago echos in my heart today and I breathe those same words as a prayer, He must increase but I must decrease! Each day I learn and strive, pray and endeavor to make my life a reflection of the great love wherewith He loved me. My prayer is for others to see Christ in me, His goodness, His kindness, His mercy and grace. Let them see less of me and ever more and more of Him. Just as John knew this was the secret of success, maybe not by the world's standard but in the eyes of God, which are really the only eyes that matter, He knew the great gift of life is living and giving it for the love of someone else. Today I hope you know just how much beloved you are by God! This Easter season is all in celebration of God's love, the gift of His son to the world, the sacrifice of Christ that he should love us enough to die in our place on the cross in payment for our sins. He who knew no sins tasted death for us but could not be defeated by death, he arose from the grave on the third day. He made a way for us enter heaven and dwell eternally with Him in joy and peace. One gift, all that is required is belief, belief that he died for our sins, belief that He is the prefect, sinless sacrifice and it's only by His blood we can be saved. Then just the simple request of asking Him to forgive your sins and save you. It's all so beautifully miraculous and yet so simple a child can understand it. There is nothing to equal the love of God, the love he has for you. May we lives lives in gratitude for this love, may our words and deeds reflect our love for God. May He increase more and more and we decrease. May God's grace and goodness be with you in this blessed Easter season!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page